Monday, February 23, 2009


IMG_0489.JPG (136655 bytes)


In fiscal year 1997/98, the Main National Tourism Development Plan (RIPP) was completed, as was the main Regional Main Tourism Development Plan for the provinces of Jambi, South Sumatra, South Sulawesi, Palembang, in South Sumatra; Kaliurang, Merapi and Merbabu in Central Java; Pasir Putih in East Java; Bukari in South East Sulawesi; the western part of West Java; Ratu boko in Sleman and Solo Kasunanan Palace in Central Java.

In facing the globalization era and to improve the regional and sub-regional economic endurance, a closer cooperation program in the tourism sector has also been implemented with several ASEAN countries, such as the Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore - Growth triangle (IMS-GI), Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Growth-triangle (IMT-GT) and Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) on marketing and promotion of tourist package programs, promoting tourist marketing between the member countries, accommodating and mobilizing private investment in the field of tourism.

In fiscal year 1997/98, the new accommodation capacity was 31,953 rooms. The number of rooms available until 1997/98 was 185,136 rooms consisting of 81,997 rooms in star-rated hotels and 103,136 rooms in non-star hotels. At the same time, the application of information technology in the field of tourism has also been continued in 47 international hotel chain networks and 16 national hotels chain networks.

The number of travel bureaus in fiscal year 1997/98 also increased to 2,631 with 721 tour leaders reached 721 and 9,365 tour guides.

No comments: